Visites à partir du 1er janvier 2018 14,781,009
Visites à partir du 1er janvier 2007 44,960,299
 

Kuttanad - le bol de riz du Kerala

 

Kuttanad, le « bol de riz du Kerala », se trouve au cœur même des eaux stagnantes du district d’Alappuzha. C'est la richesse de ses cultures de paddy qui lui a valu son surnom unique. Basée dans les régions intérieures du district, il s’agit d’une vaste zone de terres récupérées, séparées par des digues de l’eau qui est plus haute qu’il n’apparaît. La vue sur la campagne enchante tous ceux qui traversent cette région lors de leurs traversées en péniches. On a supposé que c'était peut-être le seul endroit au monde où l'agriculture est pratiquée jusqu'à 2 mètres sous le niveau de la mer. La région est desservie par 4 grandes rivières : Pampa, Meenachil, Achankovil et Manimala.

La route Alappuzha - Changanassery qui traverse le cœur de Kuttanad est célèbre pour sa vue panoramique sur cet endroit. On peut y observer lemode de vie traditionnel à la campagne. Les visites dans ces villages peuvent être une expérience qui change la vie. Surtout au cours de la saison des récoltes, on trouve des fermiers travaillant dans les champs presque toute la journée. Les premières heures de la journée nous font voir des femmes portant des faucilles pendant que les hommes sont en train de semer des graines et de se débarrasser des mauvaises herbes. Les champs avec des tiges de riz sont entourés de légions de perroquets. On peut également voir des oiseaux pis voler autour car ils sont connus pour être autourd’eaux stagnantes.

Les canaux qui sillonnent le Kuttanad abritent de grands cocotiers qui se balancent avec la brise. On voit des canards se mettre à charrier alors que les jeunes plongent dans l’eau pour chercher des coquillages. Vous trouverez une partie de la cuisine la plus savoureuse dans les cabanes à proximité et, si vous en avez envie, demandez à boire le toddy. Il s’agit d’une boisson alcoolisée autochtone extrêmement populaire dans la région.

Vous pouvez toujours faire l'expérience de Kuttanad via un bateau ou une péniche. La vue, la brise et les habitudes diligentes des habitants ne vous quitteront jamais.

La manière de s’y rendre

Gare la plus proche : Alappuzha

Aéroport le plus proche : L’aéroport international de Cochin, à environ 85 km de Alappuzha


Emplacement

Latitude: 9.355408, Longitude: 76.404047


Information géographique

Altitude : 2 m en dessous du niveau de la mer


District Tourism Promotion Councils KTDC Thenmala Ecotourism Promotion Society BRDC Sargaalaya SIHMK Responsible Tourism Tourfed KITTS Adventure Tourism Muziris Heritage KTIL

Numéro sans frais: 1-800-425-4747 (seulement en Inde)

Département du tourisme, Gouvernement du Kerala, Park View, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, India - 695 033
Téléphone: +91 471 2321132, Fax: +91 471 2322279, E-mail: info@keralatourism.org, deptour@keralatourism.org.
Tous les droits sont réservés | Kerala Tourisme 2017. Copyright | Conditions d'utilisation. Développé et maintenu par Invis Multimedia..

Visits since 1 January 2017: 4,425,024

Visits since 1 January 2007: 29,727,811

Kuttanad - The Rice Bowl of Kerala

 

Kuttanad, the 'Rice Bowl of Kerala’, lies at the very heart of the backwaters in Alappuzha district. Its wealth of paddy crops is what got it this unique nickname.  Based in the inner regions of the district, it is a huge area of reclaimed land, separated by dikes from water which is higher than it appears. The view of the countryside is what enchants all who pass through this area while travelling via houseboats. It has been speculated that it is perhaps the only place in the world where farming is done up to 2 meters below sea level. The area is serviced by 4 major rivers : Pampa, Meenachil, Achankovil and Manimala.

The Alappuzha-Changanasserry road that passes through the heart of Kuttanad is famous for the view it provides. One gets to view a slice of the traditional country lifestyle. Visits to these villages can be a life changing experience. Especially during the harvest season, one finds farmers working in the fields most of the day. The early hours of the day brings to us the sight of women carrying sickles to the fields while men are busy sowing seeds and getting rid of weeds. Fields with rice stalks have legions of parrots hovering around them. One may also see darter birds flying around as they are known to be around the area surrounding the backwaters.

The canals that crisscross Kuttanad are home to tall coconut trees that sway with the breeze. Here one comes across the local bazaars where everything from fish to vegetables is being sold. One sees ducks quacking around as youths dive into the water to obtain shells. Some of the tastiest cuisine can be found at the shacks nearby and if you feel like it, do ask for toddy. It is a native alcoholic beverage that is extremely popular in the area.

You can always experience Kuttanad via a boat or a houseboat. The view, the breeze, and the diligent habits of locals will never leave your mind.

Getting there

Nearest railway station: Alappuzha

Nearest airport: Cochin International Airport, about 85 km from Alappuzha

Location

Latitude: 9.355408, Longitude: 76.404047

Geographical Information

Altitude: 2 m Below sea level

Do you wish to add content or help us find mistakes in this web page? 

NB: You should not submit anything else other than addition / correction of page content.

For travel related requirements like accommodation, tour packages, transportation etc please click here.

District Tourism Promotion Councils KTDC BRDC Sargaalaya SIHMK Responsible Tourism Tourfed KITTS Adventure Tourism Muziris Heritage KTIL GKSF

Toll free No: 1-800-425-4747, 1-800-111-363 (within India only)

Department of Tourism, Government of Kerala, Park View, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, India - 695 033
Phone: +91 471 2321132, Fax: +91 471 2322279, E-mail: info@keralatourism.org, deptour@keralatourism.org.
All rights reserved © Kerala Tourism 2017. Copyright | Terms of Use. Developed & Maintained by Invis Multimedia.