The Jewish diet is also strictly based on the Scriptures written in Hebrew, the language of the Jews. There are no restrictions placed on the consumption of vegetarian food. Meat is also allowed, provided it is kosher (or “fit to be consumed” as per the Jewish scriptures). However, meat and dairy are never served together and a gap of three hours has to be mandatorily maintained between the consumption of the two. Even the vessels in which they are stored are cleaned separately. The coconut therefore plays a very important role in Kerala Jews’ kosher cooking where coconut milk is used as a substitute for milk.