Visits since 1 Apr 2022 2,672,226
Visits since 1 Jan 2007 44,533,815
Fort Kochi Ebrochure

Tourism News


ISSUE: 243


State Tourism Awards Announced

Mr. A. P. Anilkumar, Minister for Tourism announced the State Tourism Awards for the year 2011-12.

Intersight Tours and Travels (P) Ltd., Kochi and Riya Holidays bag the honours in the best in-bound tour operator and out-bound tour operator categories respectively. The Kochi based ‘Dream Hotel’ wins the award in five-star deluxe category while Turtle on Beach bags the best five-star hotel award. The award for the best four-star hotel goes to Udaya Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa. While Marari Beach bags the best three-star hotel, the award for the best Heritage Hotel goes to Coconut Lagoon in Kumarakom.

The award for best approved Ayurvedic centre goes to Somatheeram Beach Resort Pvt. Ltd. Rainbow Cruises in Alappuzha wins the award for the best approved houseboat operator. Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay, Kumarakom share the honours for the best homestay in Kerala.

Dr. Anil Kumar, General Manager of Mahindra Holidays wins the award for the best hotel manager. Mr. M Azad and Mr. Benny Thomas are the joint winners for innovative tourism projects, while Wonderla in Kochi was picked for the most innovative use of information technology award.

The award for the best tourism reporter and the best tourism photography went to G Jyothilal and Rajan Poduval of Mathrubhumi respectively. S. Raju, Sub Inspector, DCRB Alappuzha bags the award for the best tourism police and N. R. Ajaya Kumar gets the award for the best tourism guide.

K. M. Anamika of Darul Ulam VHSS wins the award for the best student coordinator of tourism club while Sijimol Jacob of the same school bags the award for the best teacher coordinator. The Tourism Club at Siva Vilasom Vocational Higher Secondary School, Thamarakkudi was adjudged the best tourism club.

The award for the best tourism and hotel management institute goes to Munnar Catering College. Shibu Das of Kollam and Ratheesh Kumar of Kollam share the honours for the best tourism lifeguards.

District Tourism Promotion Councils KTDC Thenmala Ecotourism Promotion Society BRDC Sargaalaya SIHMK Responsible Tourism Mission KITTS Adventure Tourism Muziris Heritage saathi nidhi Sahapedia

Toll free No: 1-800-425-4747 (Within India only)

Department of Tourism, Government of Kerala, Park View, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, India - 695 033
Phone: +91 471 2321132, Fax: +91 471 2322279, E-mail:
All rights reserved © Kerala Tourism 2022. Copyright | Terms of Use | Cookie Policy | Contact Us.
Developed & Maintained by Invis Multimedia.
We use cookies to improve user experience, and analyze website traffic. For these reasons, we may share your site usage data with our analytics partners. More info. CLOSE