الزيارات منذ 1 يناير 2018 15,683,173
الزيارات منذ 1 يناير 2007 45,862,463
 

فورت كوتشي

 

لاستكشاف المدينة التاريخية فورت كوتشي، ليس هناك خيار أفضل من السير على الأقدام. استرخ، وتنفس بعمق وقم بالخروج مرتديا ملابس قطنية، وأحذية لينة و.. أجل - قبعة من القش. في كل زاوية من هذه الجزيرة الغارقة في التاريخ، هناك شيء سحري في انتظاركم. إنها عالم كامل بمفردها، فهي محافظة على عينات من حقبة ماضية ولا تزال تفخر بتلك الأيام. إذا كان بإمكانك أن تشم رائحة الماضي، فلا شيء يمكنه أن يمنعك من المشي في هذه الشوارع.

بالمشي مباشرة من خلال طريق كي جي. هيرشل وبالاتجاه لليساريمكنك أن تلمح فورت ايمانويل. هذا الحصن كان ينتمي إلى البرتغاليين، وهو رمز للتحالف الاستراتيجي الذي كان قائما بين مهراجا كوتشين وعاهل
البرتغال، الذي سمي الحصن باسمه. وقد تم بناء هذا الحصن في 1503 وتم ترميمه في 1538. وبالمشي أبعد من ذلك قليلا، يمكنك رؤية المقبرة الهولندية. التي تم تأسيسها في عام  1724 والتي تدار من قبل كنيسة جنوب الهند، وتقوم شواهد القبور هنا بتذكير الزوار بصمت بهؤلاء الأوروبيين الذين غادروا وطنهم لتوسيع الإمبراطوريات الاستعمارية.

إن البقعة التالية التي يجب مشاهدتها هي بيت ثاكور القديم الذي يقف على شكل نموذج خرساني من العصر الاستعماري. إن المبنى رشيق ببساطة  وقد كان يعرف سابقا باسم هيل بنغلو، وقد كان موطنا لمديري البنك الوطني في الهند خلال الحكم البريطاني. والآن، ينتمي إلى ثاكور وشركاه، وهي شركة شهيرة لتجارة الشاي.

وبمتابعة السير توجد بنية استعمارية أخرى في انتظاركم – قاعة ديفيد  التي تم بناؤها حوالي عام 1695 من قبل شركة الهند الشرقية الهولندية. وترتبط القاعة بهندريك أدريان فان ريد توت دراكستون، القائد الهولندي الشهير، والذي يعتبر محط إعجاب بسبب كتابه الضخم عن النباتات في كيرالا والمعروف باسم هورتوس مالاباريكوس. ومع ذلك، سميت قاعة ديفيد على اسم ديفيد كودر، وهو ساكن لاحق للقاعة.

وبالسير مرورا بأرض الموكب (باراد جراوند) ، وهي الأفدنة الأربعة من الأرض حيث أجرى البرتغاليون والهولنديون والبريطانيون مسيرات عسكرية يوما ما، يمكنك الوصول إلى كنيسة القديس فرنسيس، أقدم كنيسة أوروبية في الهند. وقد مرت خلال العديد من المراحل منذ أن بناها البرتغاليون عام 1503. أما الآن فهي تخضع لكنيسة جنوب الهند. وبالمناسبة، فقد تم دفن  فاسكو دا جاما في هذه الكنيسة أولا، ولا يزال من الممكن رؤية قبره. وتمت إعادة رفاته إلى البرتغال في 1539.

إن طريق الكنيسة هو مكان جميل للمشي، حيث يداعب جسمك النسيم البارد من بحر العرب. وبالمشي قليلا بالقرب من البحر يوجد نادي كوتشين، وهو مكان مكتبة رائعة ومجموعة من الكؤوس الرياضية. ويقع النادي في حديقة ذات مناظر طبيعية خلابة، ولا يزال يحتفظ النادي بأجواءه البريطانية.

وبالمشي عائدا إلى شارع الكنيسة، على الجانب الأيسر، يمكنك التعثر في  قصر مهيب آخر، وهو حصن بانغالو (باستيون بانغالو). وقد تم بناء هذا الهيكل الرائع من الطراز الهندي الأوروبي في عام 1667، وتم تسميته باسم مكانه على حصن سترومبرغ الحصن الهولندي القديم. والآن هو المقر الرسمي للمجمع الفرعي.

يقع ميدان فاسكو-دا غاما في الجوار. وهو منتزه ضيق، وهذا هو المكان المثالي للاسترخاء قليلا. إن الأكشاك المليئة بالمأكولات البحرية اللذيذة وجوز الهند العطاء هي مغرية ببساطة. تذوقوا القليل ومتعوا أعينكم بشبكات الصيد الصينية، التي يتم رفعها وخفضها. وقد أقيمت هذه الشباك هنا بين عامي 1350 و 1450 من قبل تجار محكمة كوبلاي خان.

وبعد أن ارتحتم، يمكنكم الآن المضي قدما إلى بيرس ليزلي بنغالو، وهو حصن ساحر، والذي كان يعمل يوما ما كمكتب لبيرس ليزلي وشركاه، وهم تجار القهوة في السنوات الأخيرة. ويعكس هذا المبنى التأثيرات البرتغالية والهولندية والمحلية. كما أن شرفاته ذات الواجهة البحرية تعطي جاذبية إضافية. وبالاتجاه يمينا، يمكنكم الوصول إلى بيت أولد هاربور ، الذي بني في عام 1808 والمملوك من قبل كاريت موران وشركاه، وسطاء الشاي المشهورين. وبالقرب يوجد منزل كودر، المبنى الرائع الذي شيده صمويل س. كودر من شركة كوتشين الكهربائية في عام 1808. ويظهر هذا الهيكل الانتقال من العمارة الاستعمارية إلى العمارة الهندو أوروبية.

وبالاتجاه أكثر إلى اليمين، تصلون إلى شارع برنسيس ستريت ح يمكنكم الحصول علي بعض الزهور الطازجة من المحلات التجارية هنا. وهو واحد من أقدم الشوارع في المنطقة، ويوجد على جانبي هذا الطريق المساكن ذات الطراز الأوروبي. ويقع هنا لوفر كورنر، وهو الاستراحة التقليدية لشعب كوتشي المحب للمرح والمتعة.

وبالسير شمالا من ركن لوافر، تصلون إلى كاتدرائية سانتا كروز ، الكنيسة التاريخية التي بناها البرتغاليون والتي تم رفعها إلى كاتدرائية من قبل البابا بول الرابع في 1558. وفي عام 1984، أعلنها البابا يوحنا بولس الثاني كاتدرائية. وبعد إلقاء نظرة سريعة على شارع بورغر ودلتا ستدي، وهو حصن تراثي بني في عام 1808 ويعمل الآن كمدرسة ثانوية، يمكنكم السير مرة أخرى إلى شارع برينسيس ستريت ثم إلى شارع روز ستريت. وهناك تجدون  بيت فاسكو ، الذي يعتقد أنه مقر سكن فاسكو دا غاما. إن هذا البيت التقليدي النموذجي الأوروبي هو واحد من أقدم المساكن البرتغالية في كوتشي.

وبالاتجاه لليسار، يمكنكم المشي إلى طريق ريدسديل للعثور على بوابة فوك، البوابة الخشبية الكبيرة التي تواجه موكب غروند. وقد حصلت البوابة التي بنيت عام 1740، على اسمها من رمز (فوك) الخاص بالشركة الهولندية الهندية الشرقية. وبالقرب يوجد النادي المتحد، والذي كان يوما ما واحدا من النوادي اللامعة الأربعة للبريطانيين في كوتشي. والان، يعمل كفصل لمدرسة القديس فرانسيس الابتدائية القريبة.

وبمتابعة السير، تصلون الى نهاية الطريق حيث يوجد بيت بيشوب، الذي تم بناؤه عام 1506. وقد كان يوما ما مكان إقامة الحاكم البرتغالي وقد أسس على أكمة صغيرة بالقرب من باراد جراوند. وتمتلك واجهة المنزل أقواس قوطية كبيرة، وقد تم الحصول على المبنى من قبل دوم خوسيه غوميس فيريرا، الأسقف  رقم 27 لأبرشية كوشين التي امتدت ولايتها عبر بورما، مالايا، و سيلان بالإضافة للهند.

نعم، الآن حان الوقت لإنهاء السير. وبالشعور بالأيام الماضية التي لا تزال عالقة في عقلك، والمشاهد الفاتنة الباقية في عينيك وبراعم التذوق المشتاقة مرة أخرى للأطباق الشهية، فلن يكون من الغريب أن يتوق قلبك لسير آخر.

اقرأ المزيد عن كوتشي

للتوجه إلى هناك

أقرب محطة للسكك الحديدية: إرناكولام، على بعد حوالي 1.5 كم من رصيف القارب الرئيسي
أقرب مطار: مطار كوتشين الدولي، على بعد حوالي 30 كم من إرناكولام

الموقع

خط العرض: 9.964793، خط الطول: 76.242943

خريطة

District Tourism Promotion Councils KTDC Thenmala Ecotourism Promotion Society BRDC Sargaalaya SIHMK Responsible Tourism Tourfed KITTS Adventure Tourism Muziris Heritage KTIL

الرقم المجاني: 1-800-425-4747 (داخل الهند فقط)

قسم السياحة، حكومة ولاية كيرالا، بارك فيو، ثيروفانانثابورام، كيرالا، الهند - 695 033
الهاتف: +91 471 2321132، فاكس: +91 471 2322279، -بريد الكتروني: info@keralatourism.org، deptour@keralatourism.org.
جميع الحقوق محفوظة © كيرالا توريسم 2017. كوبيرايت | تعليمات الاستخدام. تطوير وصيانة بواسطة إنفيس الوسائط المتعددة.

Fort Kochi

Fort Kochi

To explore the historic town of Fort Kochi, there is no better choice than setting out on foot. Relax, breathe deep and come out in cotton, soft shoes and yes - a straw hat. At each and every nook of this island steeped in history, there is something amusing awaiting you. It is a world of its own, retaining the specimens of a bygone era and still proud of those days. If you can smell the past, nothing can stop you from walking through these streets.

Walking straight through the K. J. Herschel Road and turning left, you can have a glimpse of Fort Immanuel. This bastion once belonged to the Portuguese and is a symbol of the strategic alliance which existed between the Maharaja of Cochin and the Monarch of Portugal, after whom the fort is named. This fort was built in 1503 and reinforced in 1538. Walking a bit further, you come across the Dutch cemetery. Consecrated in 1724 and managed by the Church of South India, the tomb stones here silently remind visitors of those Europeans who left their homeland to expand their colonial empires.

The next spot to watch is the ancient Thakur House, which stands erect as a concrete specimen of the colonial era. The building is simply graceful. Formerly known as Kunal or Hill Bungalow, it was home to the managers of the National Bank of India during the British rule. Now, it belongs to the Thakur and Company, renowned tea trading firm.

Walk on and there is another colonial structure awaiting you - David Hall. It was built around 1695 by the Dutch East India Company. The hall is associated with Hendrik Adriaan van Reed tot Drakeston, renowned Dutch commander, who is more admired for his monumental book on the flora of Kerala namely Hortus Malabaricus. However, David Hall is named after David Koder, a later occupant of the hall.

Walking past the Parade Ground, the four acres of ground where the Portuguese, the Dutch and the British had once conducted military parades, you reach the St. Francis Church, the oldest European church in India. It has passed through many phases ever since the Portuguese built it in 1503. Now the church is under the Church of South India. By the way, it was in this church that Vasco-da Gama had been buried and his tombstone can still be seen.

The Church Road is a nice place to walk, with the cool breeze from the Arabian Sea caressing your body. Walk down a bit closer to the sea and there is the Cochin Club, home to an impressive library and collection of sporting trophies. Set in a beautifully landscaped park, the club still retains its British ambience.

Walking back to the Church Road, on the left side, you would stumble across another majestic mansion, the Bastion Bungalow. This wonderful structure of Indo-European style had been built in 1667 and is named after its location on the site of the Stromberg Bastion of the old Dutch fort. Now it is the official residence of the Sub Collector.

The Vasco-da Gama square is nearby. A narrow promenade, this is an ideal place to relax a little. Stalls full of delicious seafood and tender coconuts are simply tempting. Savour a bit and feed your eyes on the Chinese fishing nets, being raised and lowered. These nets had been erected here between AD 1350 and 1450 by the traders from the court of Kublai Khan.

Refreshed, you can now proceed to the Pierce Leslie Bungalow, a charming mansion, which once had been the office of Pierce Leslie and Co., coffee merchants of yesteryears. This building reflects Portuguese, Dutch and local influences. Its waterfront verandahs are an added attraction. Turning right, you come to the Old Harbour House, built in 1808 and owned by Carriet Moran and Co, renowned tea brokers. Nearby is the Koder House, the magnificent building constructed by Samuel S. Koder of the Cochin Electric Company in 1808. This structure shows the transition from colonial to Indo-European architecture.

Turn further right and you reach the Princess Street. Mind having some fresh flowers from the shops here. One of the earliest streets of the area, this road has European style residences on both its sides. Located here is the Loafer's Corner, the traditional hangout for the jovial and fun loving people of Kochi.

Walking northwards from the Loafer's corner, you come across Santa Cruz Basilica, the historic church built by the Portuguese and elevated to a cathedral by Pope Paul IV in 1558. In 1984, Pope John Paul II declared it as a Basilica. After having a quick look at the Burgher street and the Delta Study, a heritage bungalow built in the year 1808 and now functioning as a high school, you walk down, once again to the Princess Street and then to the Rose Street. There you would find Vasco house, believed to be the residence of Vasco-da Gama. This traditional and typical European house is one of the oldest of Portuguese residences in Kochi.

Turning left, you walk over to the Ridsdale Road to find the VOC gate, the large wooden gate facing the Parade ground. The gate, built in 1740, gets its name from the monogram (VOC) of the Dutch East India Company on it. Close by is the United Club, once one of the four elite clubs of the British in Kochi. Now, it serves as a classroom for the nearby St. Francis Primary School.

Walking straight, you reach the end of the road and there is the Bishop's house, built in the year of 1506. It had once been the residence of the Portuguese Governor and is set on a small hillock near the Parade Ground. The facade of the house has large Gothic arches and the building was acquired by Dom Jos Gomes Ferreira, the 27th Bishop of the Diocese of Cochin whose jurisdiction extended over Burma, Malaya and Ceylon apart from India.

Yes, now it is time to wind up the walk. With the feel of the bygone days still lingering in your minds, mesmerizing sights staying back in your eyes and your taste buds yearning again for the delicacies and it is not at all a sin, if you feel like another walk!

Read more on Kochi

Getting there

Nearest railway station: Ernakulam, about 1½ km from the main boat jetty
Nearest airport: Cochin International Airport, about 30 km from Ernakulam

Location

Lattitude:9.964793, Longitude: 76.242943

Do you wish to add content or help us find mistakes in this web page? Yes No

NB: You should not submit anything else other than addition / correction of page content.


For travel related requirements like accommodation, hotels, tour packages, transportation, info on healthcare and other travel related assistance please click here.
KTIL GKSF KTDC SIHMK Responsible Tourism Sargaalaya Tourfed KITTSKerala Travel Mart Adventure Tourism
Department of Tourism, Government of Kerala, Park View, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, India - 695 033
Phone: +91 471 2321132, Fax: +91 471 2322279, E-mail: info@keralatourism.org, deptour@keralatourism.org. Tourist Information toll free No: 1-800-425-4747.
All rights reserved © Kerala Tourism 2013. Copyright | Terms of Use. Developed & Maintained by Invis Multimedia.